Sep 27, 2016

How To: Remove a Chrome Profile

Chrome creates a profile for each user. This allows for synchronization of settings, bookmarks, apps, extensions, and passwords.

Our Chromebooks only allow one Google login per profile, all profiles must be linked to a account.

The Windows computers are a little bit different. Most of the time the profile is connected to a Google account; Chrome will allow only one profile per email on an individual computer. It is possible to have  a profile that is not connected to an account. That extra account can be confusing to users, especially when they open Chrome and expect to see their personal settings. (Chrome defaults to most recently closed profile). In this case, it may be helpful to remove the empty profile.

Sometimes things are just "weird." Or, Chrome clearly states that the "profile could not be opened properly." In this case it is best to remove the profile and have the user create a new profile.

Removing a profile from a computer (PC or Chromebook) will have no affect on the Google account. That data is stored securely on Google's servers. Once all profiles are removed, users will be prompted to create a new one simply by logging in to Chrome (and linking data on PCs).

On a Chromebook:
  1. Hover over the profile on the login screen.
  2. Click the down arrow in the upper right corner of the profile image.
  3. Choose Remove this User.

On a PC:
  1. Open Chrome.
  2. Click the 3 dots, choose Settings.
  3. Scroll down to People.
  4. Hover over the offending profile name.
  5. Click the x that appears to the right of the profile name.
  6. Confirm that it is OK to delete the content from the device.